Art that changes the world

artrebels2a21-logo-copy

Up until now I have been writing on lighthearted subjects such as DIY projects and nail polish, which i good. With so much cruelty going on in the world, it’s nice to sometimes be able to just lean back an read about somewhat less important things. But at the same time, let’s not forget what is going on in the world.

If you have read my “about” page you will have learnt that one thing I’m passionate about is the fight against human trafficking. You might not think about it on a daily basis. I confess – I don’t. There are so many things to keep our minds occupied. But the truth is, that while we go to school, work, sportsgames, the movies, cook dinner, sleep, and just kill time on blogs like this one, boys and girls, men and women, all around the world, have their lives stolen. To be exact, every 30 seconds someone somewhere is traded into modern-day slavery, mainly with the purpose of forced labor or sex trafficking.

It is estimated that 27 million people are in bondage around the globe as of right now. 27 million! That is all of Ugandas population, or all of Texas, or all of the Nordic countries – including Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Iceland. I could keep going, but you get the picture. It’s A LOT of people! Out of all of these people only 1-2% are ever rescued. To me that is simply heartbreaking.

For a long time I’ve felt the pull in my heart to do something, but I’ve kept asking myself what on earth little me could ever do to a problem this size. And that is a reasonable thought. Little me, alone, can’t do a whole lot, but if I join others with the same heart, together, we can change the world. I truly believe that in my heart. That’s why I’ve decided to join forces with the A21 Campaign. A21 is an organization with the vision to abolish injustice in the 21st century. They currently work in 9 different countries with the strategy of prevention, protection, prosecution and partnership. They see great effect of their work and that is why I think my help will not be wasted there.

So how can I help? If I could, I would walk straight into the brothels and free all the people held in bondage, but I have to be realistic and know that that is not a very wise idea. I have to start somewhere else. Start with what I have. I have art. I love art. I love making it, I love looking at it, and I love selling it. As you can see to your right on the screen, I currently sell my things on ETSY, but I have also just opened a shop at www.artrebels.com which means that my posters will be available to many more. By selling my art I am donating 20% of what I make on it to the A21 Campaign as my contribution to the fight against human trafficking. I hope to be able to help in many others ways along the road, but this is my starting point and I cannot wait to put that money into their account.

Obviously that also means that I need your help. First of all, I need you to purchase a poster and thereby help fighting injustice yourself, and I need you to share this with your friends and family. Not only that they can buy my posters, but I need you to share the reality about sex trafficking with them. The more people know, the more we can do about it. The A21 Campaign has a very informative website on the subject, which you can find here, and a list of 21 ways to get involved, which you find here.

Skriv en kommentar

Filed under thoughts, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

