love your body

bio_oil_60ml_billigparfume__32188

A few months ago I stumbled upon this little orange bottle. It claimed to reduce stretch marks and scars among a list of other things. I scanned my body in my head and thought “yup, have that – need this bottle.” I was a skeptical, so I did my research online and found a billion (okay, that might be an exaggeration) of testimonies of how this little wonder had worked miracles. I thought I’d give it a try, so I ran to the store and obtained it for about $15. I wasn’t exactly excited about handing over my card to the lady at the check-out counter, but I was too curious so I gave in. The instructions say to rub it on your marks or scars morning and night for three months and then you will see the change. Three months is quite a while, but to me that made it seem more credible – they weren’t over-selling themselves.

I started my treatment and every morning and every night I would rub this oil on me. I actually loved doing i. I felt like I was doing my body a favor. And the smell!! Being full of essential oils, I felt like I was at a spa every single day. Perfect!

Good scents and a luxury feel isn’t enough to count for success though. Did it work?

I don’t know if I qualify to say, cause I actually stopped using it before the three months had passed. I may have used it for a month and a half or so, looking to see if I could find improvements every single time.

What I found was no improvement, but a greater awareness of my imperfections. When I first started out, I only had a few spots that I would use it on, but a month and a half in, I had found so many little things that were wrong with my skin, that I started wondering why I had never noticed this before. That’s when I realized, that I had never noticed, because I had never cared. I had never seen the imperfections because I was completely fine with them being there. I had never worried about it before to the extend that I did now. That’s when I decided to stop using this oil regularly. Not because it did something bad to my body, but because I started loving my body less for every time I used it. I decided that this was definitely not worth it – and I didn’t actually see any improvements from the use whatsoever. As another blogger said (forgive me for having forgotten who) – this is basically just scented baby oil.

What’s most important to me isn’t if I look great, but if I feel great. So if anything that I do will make me feel worse about myself and my body, I will stop doing it. Having a bad self-image is not a price I want to pay to look perfect. I challenge you to do the same.

Have you tried this oil? What are your thoughts and experiences with it? Let me know in the comments.

Skriv en kommentar

Filed under beauty, thoughts

Leave a comment

